Laserfiche WebLink
178 <br /> <br />REGULAR MEETING OF CASS COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS <br /> <br />JANUARY 17, 1989 <br /> <br /> Chairman Don Eckert called the meeting to order with four members <br />present as follows: Oscar Sondrall, Don Eckert, Sharon "Pepper" <br />Toussaint, and Gene Shannon. Alon Wieland was absent. <br /> <br /> Mr. Sondrall moved and Mrs. Toussaint seconded that the minutes of <br />the previous meeting be approved as written. Motion carried. <br /> <br /> An Abatement Hearing regarding Wayne and Sandra Brand was held <br />with Mr. Francis Klein, Director of Tax, present. Mr. Klein said the <br />Brand's had a duplex in West Fargo and would like the value lowered <br />from $71,500 to $58,426 which represents the sale price. Mr. Klein <br />recommended denying Abatement Application #3891. Mr. Sondrall moved <br />and Mr. Shannon seconded that the abatement be denied for Wayne and <br />Sandra Brand. On roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously. <br /> <br /> Mr. Klein said that Hubert Oye and Sons have applied for a <br />five-year exemption on income tax and for exemption on buildings at 70% <br />of value. The application had been sent to the State Board of Tax <br />Equalization which approved it. There has been no objection to the <br />application at the two scheduled public hearings. Mr. Shannon moved <br />and Mr. Sondrall seconded to postpone consideration of the exemption <br />for one week due to the absence of Mr. Wieland, and to give <br />Mr. Sondrall time to get further information from Mr. Klein. Motion <br />carried. <br /> <br /> Mr. Shannon moved that, "Cass County Commissioners resolve that we <br />support the continuation of the return to our County of 100% of the <br />incentive money that comes to the County under the formula for Regional <br />Child Enforcement and that we do not support legislative action which <br />would use this money for other purposes." Mr. Sondrall seconded with <br />the amendment to read: <br /> <br />"Cass County Commissioners resolve that we support the continuation of <br />the return to the Counties of 100% of the incentive money that comes to <br />the County under the formula for regional Child Enforcement and that we <br />do not support legislative action which would use this money for other <br />purposes." Motion carried as amended. <br /> <br /> Mr. Shannon added that cass County Social Services voted to take <br />50% of dollars coming into Cass County. <br /> <br /> Mr. Eckert had been informed by letter of four people to serve on <br />the Personnel Review Committee: Mike Montplaisir, Don Richards, Judge <br />Frank Racek and States Attorney Robert Hoy. Mr. Thorson submitted the <br />names of four staff people to serve on the Committee: Steve Nagel from <br />the Road Department, Steve Dawson from the Sheriff's Office, Carol <br />Harrington, Brenda Krueger and Jane Fick from the Courthouse. <br />Mr. Eckert designated Mr. Alon Wieland and Mrs. Toussaint to represent <br />the Commission on the Personnel Policy Review Committee. Mr. Sondrall <br />will be ' Mr. Wieland's alternate and Mr. Shannon will be <br />Mrs. Toussaint's alternate. Sandra Brumfield was requested to attend <br /> <br /> <br />