CASS COUNTY JOINT WATER RESOURCE DISTRICT HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING ORIGINATING AT THE CASS COUNTY HIGHWAY DEPARTMENT HERITAGE CONFERENCE ROOM WEST FARGO, NORTH DAKOTA FEBRUARY 11, 2025 10:30 A.M.

A special meeting of the Cass County Joint Water Resource District Human Resources Committee was held on February 11, 2025, at 10:30 a.m.

Present were Keith Weston, and Rick Steen, Southeast Cass Water Resource District; Melissa Hinkemeyer, Director, Secretary-Treasurer; Elizabeth Smith, Administrative Assistant; Rita Nelson, Accounting Assistant; Sean M. Fredricks and Katie J. Schmidt, Ohnstad Twichell, P.C. and Leilei Bao, Fargo resident. Manager William A. Hejl, Rush River Water Resource District was absent.

Office staffing

The Director gave an overview of the interviews for the Accountant/Treasurer position. The Director received approximately 60 applications through three platforms. She and Manager Hejl interviewed five candidates with a range of experience and backgrounds. Manager Hejl was able to sit in on all but one interview. Manager Hejl is in agreement with the Director's top candidate, Amy Hepper.

Sean Fredricks stated that the Human Resources Committee can make a recommendation to the Cass County Joint Board on who to hire. Discussion was held on the compensation and benefits package for this position. The committee discussed recommending the Cass County Joint Board authorize the Director to negotiate annual leave with Ms. Hepper due to her years of experience.

A motion was made by Manager Steen and seconded by Manager Weston to recommend offering Amy Hepper the Accountant/Treasurer position with an annual salary of \$70,000, plus benefits. The committee recommends authorizing the Director to negotiate the accumulation rate of annual leave. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

<u>Adjournment</u> There being no further business to be considered by the Board, it was moved by Manager Steen, seconded by Manager Weston, and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.

APPROVED:

Keith Weston Chairman

ATTEST:

Melissa Hinkemeyer Secretary