AMENDED ITEM—Tuesday, September 6, 2022

SUGGESTED MOTION: Move to amend the order of the agenda and add item h. Authorize Commissioner Scherling to sign the MetroCOG letter of support.

CONSENT AGENDA

h. Authorize Commissioner Scherling to sign the MetroCOG letter of support

SUGGESTED MOTION: Move to authorize Commissioner Scherling to sign the letter of support from the MetroCOG Policy Board to the US Department of Transportation.



Case Plaza Suite 232 | One 2nd Street N Fargo, North Dakota 58102-4807 p: 701.532.5100 | f: 701.232.5043 e: metrocog@fmmetrocog.org www.fmmetrocog.org

August 18, 2022

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg
Secretary
U.S. Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE
Washington, DC 20590

RE: Support for the Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) Comprehensive Safety Action Plan Grant for the Fargo-Moorhead Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA)

Dear Secretary Buttigieg,

The Fargo-Moorhead Metropolitan Council of Governments (Metro COG) and area jurisdictions of the Fargo-Moorhead MSA understand our shared responsibility in eliminating fatal and serious crashes for all roadway users, including those who walk, bike, drive, ride transit, and travel by other modes in our community. We are committed to a holistic approach in how we think about transportation safety and how we prioritize investments across the entire transportation system so that we can build a safe and better system for all users of all modes.

By developing the first regional comprehensive safety action plan for the Fargo-Moorhead MSA, our area will commit to providing a framework of innovative strategies and implementation actions that will ensure crash reductions and support federal safety initiatives. Through expanded collaboration across regional stakeholders and community members, as well as guidance from FHWA's Safe System approach, Metro COG and area jurisdictions will develop a shared comprehensive safety action plan that is data-driven and includes a wide-ranging approach to achieve zero roadway fatalities and serious injuries.

We, as eligible applicants under the SS4A discretionary grant program, fully support this joint application to develop a comprehensive safety action plan for our region. We are eager to develop a framework for identifying, analyzing, and prioritizing roadway safety improvements that will reduce fatalities and serious injuries on our roadway network in the Fargo-Moorhead MSA.

Sincerely,

Dave Piepkorn, Commissioner City of Fargo, North Dakota

Jeff Trudeau, Councilmember City of Horace, North Dakota

Chuck Hendrickson, Councilmember City of Moorhead, Minnesota

Mary Scherling, Commissioner Cass County, North Dakota

Brad Olson, Commissioner City of West Fargo, North Dakota

Jenny Mongeau, Commissioner Clay County, Minnesota

Julie Nash, Councilmember City of Dilworth, Minnesota Cindy Gray, Executive Director Fargo-Moorhead Metropolitan Council of Governments