SPECIAL MEETING OF CASS COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS FEBRUARY 7, 2017

1. MEETING CALLED TO ORDER

Chairman Chad M. Peterson called a special meeting to order at 10:30 AM to conduct an oral interview for one applicant for the position of Cass County Administrator. All members were present as follows: Vern Bennett, Rick Steen, Arland H. Rasmussen, Mary Scherling, and Chad M. Peterson. Also present were Interim County Administrator Darrell Vanyo and Human Resources Director Cindy Stoick.

2. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR ORAL INTERVIEWS

The commissioners conducted an interview with Jason Benson for the position of County Administrator. Mr. Vanyo read the questions to the candidate and commissioners asked follow-up questions of their own choosing.

After the interview, the commissioners discussed the attributes of each candidate.

Mr. Steen left for the remainder of the meeting.

MOTION, passed

Mrs. Scherling moved and Mr. Rasmussen seconded to conduct a background check on Robert Wilson; and pending the results of a favorable background check, Mr. Vanyo and Mrs. Stoick may offer the position to Mr. Wilson for a yearly salary not to exceed \$110,000, with the option of increasing his salary at the discretion of the commission after a 12-month probationary period. Motion carried with three members voting "Yes" and Mr. Bennett voting "No".

Mr. Bennett, in explaining his "No" vote, stated that he agreed with the background check part of the motion but preferred that both finalist candidates have a background check. Mr. Bennett felt that a hiring decision should be made at a future meeting. Mr. Bennett's "No" vote was against the timing of hiring and not against any candidate.

Mr. Bennett left for the remainder of the meeting.

Mrs. Scherling suggested the board reconvene for further discussion if the background check on Mr. Wilson is unfavorable.

3. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 12:42 PM.

ATTEST:	APPROVED:
Michael Montplaisir – Auditor	Chad M. Peterson, Chairman
Cass County, North Dakota	Cass County Board of Commissioners